top of page
  • Writer's pictureLifelines for MCI

July 21, 2020: Protector of the oppressed

"What is a legacy? Planting seeds in a garden you'll never see." LMM, for the Hamiltonphiles amongst you.


How do I want to be remembered? For those who know the pre-incarceration ME, the tenets of the Boy Scout Motto would be a great start. You'll have to look it up...it's been a LONG time.


I would add to that list - protector of the oppressed; upholder of virtuous and noble principles; writer, actor and singer. Stubborn, opinionated and a zealous dedication to whatever cause held my attention are less fanciful descriptors.


For my sons, I want to be remembered as a fun, tough and caring father. A confidant, protector, and 'Pops.' Man, if I didn't fuck that one up.


If you want to find out who your true friends are, come to prison. Of the dozens I thought would reach out, only a few have materialized. These brave friends and Very Significant Other will remember my legacy not only for my past, but by what I have accomplished while incarcerated, the people I have helped and influenced.


Most will remember me as 'monster.' I have no control over how I am going to be remembered, I cannot worry about what others feel, an epiphany five years in development. All I can do is be the best ME possible.


Maybe one of the five that will decide my fate 5415 short days from now will recall reading this and think 'is this the same guy that submitted an essay I read about his legacy years ago? Maybe we should look at him without the rubber stamp poised for action.'


It's my dream.


Applicable tune - How Did You Love (piano version), Shinedown. God knows the truth...




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

July 29, 2020: Blessings to all

Thanks for taking the time and energy to remember and to reach out to inmates like me. I pray for health and safety and well-being of your f

bottom of page