top of page
  • Writer's pictureLifelines for MCI

July 18, 2020 Mailing

Lifelines for MCI | lifelinesformci.com

Call for Responses: What is it you want your legacy to be? How do you want to be remembered? What will be your contribution to humanity? Take your time and answer honestly, then send in your responses; we'll share them all anonymously on the website and in an upcoming edition of Lifelines for MCI.

“Only by learning to live in harmony with your contradictions can you keep it all afloat." - Audre Lorde

"My wish for you is that you continue to be who you are, to astonish a mean world with your acts of kindness." - Maya Angelou

"There is some good in the world and it is worth fighting for." - J.R.R. Tolkien

Songs for Inspiration

“Wide River to Cross” by Levon Helm

“Shake It Off” by Taylor Swift

“Kind and Generous” by Natalie Merchant

“Santa Claus And His Old Lady” by Cheech & Chong when I need to laugh

“Long Black Veil” by Dave Matthews Band when I need to cry

Southern Harmony and Musical Companion (entire album) by The Black Crowes when I need to feel all the feels

Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta, BB 114: II. Allegro, Bartok, B.

“Keep Ya Head Up” – 2Pac

“Beautiful Day” or “No Bad News” – Patty Griffin

“Son’s Gonna Rise” – Citizen Cope

Bother, Stone Sour or Karma and Effect (entire album) by Seether when I need to be angry

“Everything is Everything” – Lauryn Hill

Word Scrambles – County Fair

ISEDR ODFO MIALNAS TOHOBS UCSMI KITCTE

NCRO SGDO (two words) RSIFRE EHLEW (two words) DESI HSOSW (two words)

Poem for Today

Blood History – Reginald Dwayne Betts

The things that abandon you get remembered different.

As precise as the English language can be, with words

like penultimate and perseverate, there is not a combination

of sounds that describe only that leaving. Once,

drinking & smoking with buddies, a friend asked if

I’d longed for a father. Had he said wanted, I would have

dismissed him in the way that youngins dismiss it all:

a shrug, sarcasm, a jab to the stomach, laughter.

But he said longing. & in a different place, I might

have wept. Said, once, my father lived with us & then he

didn’t & it fucked me up so much I never thought about

his leaving until I held my own son in my arms & only

now speak on it. A man who drank Boone’s Farm & Mad

Dog like water once told me & some friends that there is no

word for father where he comes from, not like we know it.

There, the word father is the same as the word for listen.

The blunts we passed around let us forget our

tongues. Not that much though. But what if the old

head knew something? & if you have no father, you can’t

hear straight. Years later, another friend wondered why

I named my son after my father. You know, that’s a thing

turn your life to a prayer that no dead man gonna answer.

Word Scramble answers: rides, food, animals, booth, music, ticket, corn dogs, ferris wheel, side shows

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

July 24, 2020: Updates from inside

*** From our illustrious leader *** July 21, 2020 Dear MCI Residents, Effective 7/27/20, we will begin a pilot program to copy all incoming

bottom of page