top of page
  • Writer's pictureLifelines for MCI

July 11, 2020 Mailing

Lifelines for MCI is back after an unavoidable and unplanned hiatus. Please accept our deepest apologies for the silence, and know that you never left our thoughts. Here’s to finding a way and sticking with it for the long haul.

Quotations to Think About Today

“I believe with my life, with how I live.” – Carolyn Forché

Ring the bells that can ring

Forget your perfect offering

There is a crack in everything

That's how the light gets in

-Leonard Cohen

It doesn't matter who hurt you or broke you down.

What matters is who made you smile again.

True friends are those who come to find you in dark places and lead you back to the light.

-Steven Aitchison

Challenges for Today

Sitting at a four-legged table there is: 1 grandma, 2 moms, 2 daughters and a granddaughter. How many legs are under the table?

Boggle: See how many words you can find. Letters can connect in any direction; each letter can be used only once in each word.

1st row: T E R H A

2nd row: A D D T R

3rd row: R R E N R

4th row: C T I B S

5th row: V A R E C

Poem for Today

Making a Fist – Naomi Shihab Nye

We forget that we are all dead men conversing with dead men.

—Jorge Luis Borges

For the first time, on the road north of Tampico,

I felt the life sliding out of me,

a drum in the desert, harder and harder to hear.

I was seven, I lay in the car

watching palm trees swirl a sickening pattern past the glass.

My stomach was a melon split wide inside my skin.

“How do you know if you are going to die?”

I begged my mother.

We had been traveling for days.

With strange confidence she answered,

“When you can no longer make a fist.”

Years later I smile to think of that journey,

the borders we must cross separately,

stamped with our unanswerable woes.

I who did not die, who am still living,

still lying in the backseat behind all my questions,

clenching and opening one small hand.

Answer is 10 (3 women of 3 different generations and 4 table legs)

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

July 24, 2020: Updates from inside

*** From our illustrious leader *** July 21, 2020 Dear MCI Residents, Effective 7/27/20, we will begin a pilot program to copy all incoming

bottom of page